The HSP Dimension: Expressions of Highly Sensitive People
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Forum set-up & configuration

+3
melodiccolor
Logan (Earthmaiden)
Justin Passing
7 posters

Go down

Forum set-up & configuration Empty Forum set-up & configuration

Post by Justin Passing Thu May 01, 2008 7:32 pm

I'm a bit unhappy with the level of customization this host provides. It seems rather limiting, both on an artistic level and on a technical level. All of phpbb's actual settings seem to be hidden from us, and I'm not real happy about that. I'm no expert, and I'm probably missing something, but I can't find things like log out timeouts, and the backup situation is all or nothing, with no way for me to create a local copy that I could move to another host if need be. I've also discovered no way to archive threads, or more importantly preserve them in a "generally useful" format.
Justin Passing
Justin Passing
Admin

Back to top Go down

Forum set-up & configuration Empty Re: Forum set-up & configuration

Post by Logan (Earthmaiden) Thu May 01, 2008 7:35 pm

Do you have any suggestions?
Logan (Earthmaiden)

Back to top Go down

Post by Justin Passing Thu May 01, 2008 7:45 pm

Logan,

My original thought was to take the time to learn the phpbb software, but sadly I don't have time to do that right now, and probably won't until sometime later this summer. Then, armed with the knowledge of what we (technically) wanted to be able to do, we'd shop for a host which was both affordable, reliable, and able to give us the features we want. Once the host was settled, people with a flair for the artistic (I'm terrible with such things) could have fun setting up various looks for the place, and hopefully I'd be knowledgeable enough to fix whatever problems arose with the underlying html code.